The school was built in 1876 and provided an education for Girls and infant Boys until it closed 100 years later in 1976. The building was then used as Council offices until recently.
The Friends of the Old Girl’s School was formed to prevent this beautiful historic building from deteriorating due to being unused and to explore the possibility of bringing it into community use.
The Friends group continues to pursue these aims within the Governance of Sherburn in Elmet Community Trust. Four of the Friends group; Allyson Chambers, Tony Hewitt, Alma Hodgson and Gary Limbert have become Trustees of the Community Trust.
North Yorkshire County Council has granted a lease to Sherburn in Elmet Community Trust from April 20017
The Vision is to use the building in a flexible way to provide a multiple use facility for the Community. Ideas are still being developed but usage will have to generate sufficient income to provide for the management, upkeep and maintenance of the building.
The building will need considerable work to bring it back into use. Various possibilities of grant funding are being pursued and it is hoped that the skills and enthusiasm from within the community can be utilised to refurbish the building in a phased way.